What Agave Nectar is about

Agave nectar is a sweetener made from the starch and inulin in the root of the agave plant. Maguey (also called the Century Plant) is the “official” name of the more than 200 species of agave plants commercially grown in Mexico.



It is an amber-colored liquid that pours more easily than honey and is considerably sweeter than sugar which means that one is likely to use less of it for the purpose of sweetening.

Natural Sweetener

This natural sweetener has a lower glycemic index than sugar, so it will affect your glucose level as much as sugar does.

What is worthy of mention is that the Agave nectar is gluten-free and suitable for vegans.

Less is more with any type of of sweeteners albeit natural or articificial.  The advice is always to consume sweeteners in careful moderation.



Related Posts


Write a comment

Comments are moderated